By Amanda Marie Heileman

 

I had no idea what I 20130921_112713was doing when I moved in with five other people into a three bedroom apartment. The girl I was sharing my room with was very… open. She was often taking things of an illegal substance, and when she did she got weird. One night, after her usual “daily cry” (her words not mine), she asked if I could comfort her by cuddling with her. Me, being the sucker that I am, well I said yes. I was in my jammies and in my bed trying to go to sleep, so she curled up in front of me so I would be the big spoon. A few minutes later, I felt her caressing my leg and realized that maybe she didn’t just want to cuddle. dscn2264

Let me back up just a bit. When I graduated high school, I had no idea what I wanted to do. I wasn’t sure if if I wanted to go to college,  travel or continue working at the toy and candy store that I loved. The only thing I knew was that I was getting out of my mamma’s house! No disrespect mom, but you can be a little eccentric at times. So I participated in a program that allowed me to move from Houston to Washington State. I joined an email group with five other random people also participating in the program, and we found an apartment and moved in together. The two guys shared a room,
and four girls split the other two bedrooms.

I have four brothers and two sisters, and a huge extended family, so I thought I had this handled you know? Wrong. Wronggo. Wronger McWrongson. I had no idea that my standard of cleanliness was not OK with one of my roomies, I had no idea that living with guys would be more gross than living with my brothers and I had no idea my extrovertness could be very draining to an introvert. 20130907_132132

Me and one of my other roommates did not get along at all. We were total opposites, he was coddled all the way into adult hood and he didn’t know how to do his laundry, clean up after himself, eat well, respect others or take responsibility for his mistakes, and I’d been taking care of myself since I was a kid. One time we were fighting and he told me I needed to stop being jealous of him since I was “a poor black girl from a poor family.”

All in all, I wouldn’t change what I experienced for anything. Yes, my awkward touchy roomie ended up quitting the program, bailing out on her share of the rent and stole a lot of my money and clothes. The thing that bothered be the most that she did was eat my pre-made lunch out of the refrigerator. But I ended up learned a lot and I made some life-long friends. So here’s something I wish I had before moving in with some randoms–a few tips learned the hard way.

  • Keep your money safe, and keep track of it.
  • Trust your gut when you meet someone for the first time.
  • Don’t expect to all be friends. (Even though I wish I was friends with my roomies like Jess from New Girl)
  • Your food will be eaten.
  • And lastly, don’t cuddle if you don’t want to!

 

 

